La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Post-Workout Recovery Drink Recipie

This works well for me, has about 50g of protein and 100g of high glycemic-index carbs. And it actually tastes pretty good.

  • 1 bannana
  • 1 cup frozen mixed berries
  • 1 cup fruit juice
  • 1 Tbsp Dextrose
  • A pinch of ginger
  • 2 scoops of whey protein isolate (I use Isopure apple-melon)
  • 3/4 scoop of mild melon HEED
  • ice cubes and about 2 cups water

Put it in a blender and go. It foams up to quite a big volume initially but, after settling, should be enough to fill a 32 oz Nalgene. Put it in a cooler and drink it right after your ride. Perfect.

September 21, 2008 Posted by | Nutrition, Recipie | 1 Comment

Calculating Fixed Gear Speeds and RPMs

Just a little math tidbit for determining gear ratios on a fixed gear bike…

If you know RPMs and want to determine speed:

  • SpeedMPH = RPM * FrontTeeth / RearTeeth * WheelDiameterInches * Pi * 60minperhour / 63360inpermile

Which factors out to:

  • SpeedMPH = RPM * FrontTeet / ReadTeeth * WheelDiameterInches * 0.002975

Or if you know speed and want to see how fast your legs will spin:

  • RPM = SpeedMPH / (FrontTeet / ReadTeeth * WheelDiameterInches * 0.002975)

As an example, lets say I have a 48×16 fixie with 26.5 inch diameter wheels. Spinning at 100 RPMs will put me at:

  • SpeedMPH = 100 * 48 / 16 * 26.5 * 0.002975 = 23.65 MPH

And if I’m cruising down a hill at 30 MPH, how fast are my legs going?

  • RPM = 30 / (48 / 16 * 26.5 * 0.002975) = 126.84 RPM

September 21, 2008 Posted by | Fixie, Math | 1 Comment

First Impressions on the Mamasita

The Mamasita is different in so many ways from my previous ride (a Specialized FSR XC Pro) that its hard to say exactly what is responsible for the difference in ride quality. But I can honestly say that the Mamasita is the sweetest bike I’ve ridden in almost every way.
First lets look at the old vs the new:

  • The FSR is a 30.5 lb, 100mm/4″ travel full suspension with mid-level components, heavy 26″ wheels and tubed tires.
  • The Mamasita is a 24 lb, 80mm front travel, scandium/carbon hardtail with lightweight 29″ wheels (Stans rims, white bros/ american classic hubs)  and tubeless tires (Bontranger).

Between the 29″ wheels, the tubeless tires @ 30 psi, the carbon seatstays and the ti seatpost, there was a surprisingly cushy feel over light to moderatly bumpy/rocky/rutted sections. Many mildly rough sections of trail would normaly bounce me around, slow down my FSR and suck my momentum. But the Mamasita rolls right over it like it was pavement.  But make no mistake – this is a hardtail and any big hits will remind you of that in a big way. Finesse, attention to lines and top notch handling skills will help if you’re piloting this down technical downhills.

The traditional 29er complaints were not noticable to me. First I was able to handle switchbacks with the same ease as my 26ers.  It requires a slight change in technique but I see no reason why a 29er wouldn’t be able to make a tight turn as well as a smaller wheel. The steep headtube angle on the Mamasita helps out alot with this – turning is snappy and responsive and a few winding corkscrew sections of the course felt a lot quicker on this rig.

Second 29er complaint, slower acceleration, was not an issue at all. Probably because I’m on a lighter hardtail with lighter wheels but acceleration felt just as snappy as other 26ers to me. Starting from a dead start does require a little bit more push but if you’re stopping that often, you’re doing it wrong.

On pavement and hardpack I noticed much less rolling resistance with the 29er tubeless tires. Not quite road-bike smooth but a heck of a lot smoother than other tubed tires I’ve tried on other 26ers. And the tires dug into the dirt spectacularly. I could lean harder into hardpack and sandy corners and hold a line. Again, I’m not sure if all this nice wheel feel is due to the tires, the tubeless thing, or the 29er thing but whatever it is, it works.

What can I say – The frame is awesome. The Mamasita’s geometry, as I mentioned before, is pretty steep which is great if you are an aggressive rider who is actively engaged in handling the bike. The frame is so laterally stiff and the advantages of its geometry and hardtail-ness are readily apparent when you stand up to stomp on the pedals. It is mega stiff and transmits power to the wheel like its a track bike. It can easily do the steady sit-n-spin type effort but the Mamasita begs to be riden aggressively. It responds to every bit of effort you put forth and the 29″ wheels make sure you keep that momentum.

In short the Mamasita seems like the ulitmate race frame. We’ll have to see how comfy she is for epic rides. I experienced none of the supposed shortcomings of the 29er format while experiencing all the benefits. One of these days I may want a little more cush and will return to the full-suspension madness but for now the Mamasita (and 29ers in general) seem to match my style perfectly.

September 21, 2008 Posted by | 29er, mamasita | Leave a comment