La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Elings Park Race – sept 2008

So my return to XC mountain bike racing proved triumphant. The weather was perfect for me – cool and foggy, there was no blazing sun to slow me down. Of course that meant no ocean views but c’est la vie.

This was my first race since 1996 – back then I was still racing junior and now I’m in the 30-34 age group! I registered as a beginner which meant 2 laps on a 6 mile course that I was intimately familiar with. Plus I was in the best shape of my life – over the last decade at least. All that lead to the big V – 1st place; 48:33 on the 12 mile course; 5+ minutes faster than my nearest rival. I was really sandbagging it apparently.

Next year I’ll upgrade to sport, err excuse me Cat 2, and race with the big dogs.

Here are a few good pics from the day:

After the race I hung out with Shaun, Andy, Jos and Kate. Checked out some Dual Slalom action and cheered on the Sport XC racers. Shaun even brought along some post race recovery beverage from Telegraph Brewing Company. A great time for all!

Finally a kick-ass pic of my buddy Paul Donohoe rounding the final corner of the XC downhill section:

September 28, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Woot! Great race yesterday Matt!

    Comment by jawsome | September 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Congratulations on your bike victory – I’m glad you’ve gotten back into it! I love the picture of you on the top box, I mean podium, receiving your gold medal!

    Comment by sue perry | September 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

