La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

“Urban Assault” Sunday and 29er evangelism

This weekend saw the continuation of the chicken ranch sunday am ride. This time it was the supposedly infamous urban assualt ride.

We met in the San Roque area (i biked there in the early morning fog.. nice) and went up through Rocky Nook, up/down the powerline climb, up Jesusita and down to Steven’s park then out foothill to descend down tuckers grove. A lot of pavement but also a good deal of nice technical riding. 3 1/2 hours of solid riding with a fun crowd.

Did I mention how much I dig the 29er on technical stuff? At first I promised myself I wouldn’t evangelize the 29 inch wheels no matter how awesome they were .. but now I can’t deny other people this knowledge. Unequivocally, without a shred of doubt, if your riding involves any terrain that is remotely rough or technical, 29 inch wheels will make you a better rider. Period. The Jesusita climb, with numerous rock gardens were a piece of cake; they typically toss your front wheel off course and rob your momentum. I didn’t clean the whole thing but I made it up with about 5 or 6 dabs.

The descents, stream crossings, drop offs, etc. were insanely smooth. It was uncanny how much easier the technical sections feel. I found myself focusing on the “bigger picture” – picking good lines up ahead, keeping maximum speed, flowing with my bike, body and trail as one – rather than focusing on each rock that could bump me off course. 29 inch wheels are that good. It will drastically change your riding for the better. You don’t even need suspension (except maybe for comfort reasons).

October 27, 2008 - Posted by | 29er, ride_report

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

