La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Santa Ynez base miles

It’s that time of year… time to put in lots of miles and build up that endurance. Luckily southern california weather is very conducive to such activities in the middle of winter. Today’s ride took me out to some wine country hills that I hadn’t ridden since the Solvang century of 2007.

I started in Buellton, went out to Lompoc via Santa Rosa road, climbed up Harris Grade and headed out to Los Alamos. (Random trivia: Did you know Alamos means cottonwood? I didn’t until today…). From there I crossed 101 and climbed up Aliso canyon then Foxen Canyon before making my way back to Buellton via Ballard Canyon road. It was a 73 mile ride, 3700 vertical feet (felt like less actually) in a little less than 4 hours. My HR was in zones 3/4 for 2.5 hours of that time .. no junk miles here.

I didn’t bring my camera but the vineyards and farms looked spectacular in the morning fog. I saw a few red-tailed hawks prowling the roadside… one even flew along the road in front of me for 20 second… they are truly magnificent birds. The weather was cool but not cold. Couldn’t have asked for anything better.

Well I supposed I could ask people to stop throwing sharp objects on the side of the road. I got a flat today from what appeared to be the severed end of a fish hook. Took a few minutes to patch it up and then my pump decided to rip the presta head directly off the valve stem. Frig. Not a big deal, just one more spare tube. That tube was probably on its way out anyhow … I counted 11 patches including today’s roadside patch. I am a cheap bastard.

November 28, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Good job! We saw a hawk on our hike today as well.

    Comment by jawsome | November 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

