La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Blast from the past

Our american airlines flight back to San Diego was mysteriously canceled this morning.. good thing i checked my email before we left at 3:00! So we leave on sunday instead. Great. I can’t tell you how happy this makes me.

I’ve been doing some cross-training to keep my fitness including some XC sking, a few 3 to 4 mile runs, my homebrew pilates workout and some snow shoveling. Enough already. I was pissed at life and it was time to pedal again.

I took advantage of the extra day to do a road ride around my ole stomping grounds north of New Milford CT. The weather was a balmy 38 degrees with lots of moisture and a 100% chance of crappy grey overcast fog. But it was beautiful nonetheless.

img00095
img00102

I biked out to Kent via Sherman, Webatuk, NY and Bulls Bridge. Then back through south kent and gaylordsville.

slush ride map

About 38 miles and 2.5 hours of good steady low-rpm rolling hills and big gear tempo riding.
img00089

The best part was my gear .. I brought no cycling gear with me so I had to scrounge what I could from my dad. A 10-speed Trek road bike with friction shifting, some old running clothes and neon-orange hunting vest rounded out my stylish ensemble for the day. Classic.
img00087

Just goes to show you can have a fantastic ride without having the latest and greatest gear.

December 27, 2008 - Posted by | ride_report

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

