La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

MTB season warmup in Fontana

Up bright and early this morning to drive down to the Inland Empire for some racing in Southridge/Fontana.

Fun course on the edge of the suburban sprawl.

southridge

And some nice scenery:

fontana

And the fans were out in full force helping us stay… ummm .. motivated.

wc6v9537

There was one significant climb (about half paved), lots of other punchy little ones, some tight-n-twisty singletrack sections and a good dose of open fire road to crank out the legs. There were a few tricky spots, not too technical but some ruts and concrete drain crossings were a little hair-raising as I had never ridden the course and had no clue what was around each corner. I’ll be prepared for the US Cup event here in late march.

I’ve been making some big strides in my fitness and feeling pretty strong recently. So the thought has crossed my mind, “perhaps I should be racing Expert instead of Sport”. Of course I’ve only done 1 sport race (last Nov.) and I got 2nd but I feel like I could potentially win/podium a good number of US Cup races this year in Cat 2. That would be fun. But I also feel like I may want to up the level of competition and spend a season suffering in Expert (er Cat 1) which is eventually where I want to be.

SO.. since southridge is not a Norba event, I jumped right into the Expert 27-34 mens race to test the waters. I felt great. Having to race against really high caliber riders was fun and challenging in a way that sport would not be.. I actually got passed and blown away on the downhills on two separate occasions. And I like the longer-distance events where you have to measure out your effort a bit more.

Not sure how I placed as I didn’t stick around for the results to be posted. I know I did pretty well amongst the experts, possibly beat one of the pro riders and might have podiumed in my age group. We’ll have to wait and see…

Now the question is, do I upgrade my Norba license and re-register for all the spring races in Cat 1 knowing that I’ll get my clock cleaned on a regular basis (remember that last years semi-pros might have moved to Cat 1)? Or stay in Cat 2 and go for the gold?

February 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

