La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Gaviota Hour of Power

Or something like that. The goal for today’s workout: use the power meter to pace myself for a steady 1 hour effort just below my threshold.

My Functional Threshold Power (FTP or the power you’re able to sustain in a 1 hour race) is somewhere around 320 to 330 watts. So I pedaled west, out 101 towards Gaviota, with a goal of keeping my wattage at 290-300 for the next hour.

gaviota_threshold

I ended up doing 310 watts average (315 watts normalized power) for the hour interval. The interesting part is that, although I paced myself fairly well with respect to my power output, my heart rate shows drastically different stories at either end of my hour interval. Lots of “aerobic decoupling“. Without the power meter, my instinct would have been to push it too hard early and ease off towards the end – a strategy that might give me a more steady HR but would not give me that sustained muscular endurance.

Anyways, I promise this blog won’t become a power-meter blog. I will attempt to resist the urge…

March 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Enough data crunching. Lets hear about cool rides.
    (Otherwise you are going to make me jealous and “need” one of those toys too.)

    Comment by Sarah | March 23, 2009 | Reply

  2. Aerobic decoupling? That’s something I worry about all the time.

    Comment by John Comunale | March 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

