La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Calf cramps .. arghhhhh

So I forgot to mention in my race report the most frustrating part of the day, indeed of this last week. Calf cramps!

On thursday, after doing some hill repeats on my road bike, i was pedaling home at an easy pace when my left calf muscle cramped completely. It was the most painful thing I have experienced in a while. I literally fell over into the bushes in the side of the road, screaming in agony. I chalked it up to poor hydration and electrolyte imbalance and rested it until Fontana.

Well the hike-a-bike section was probably the worst thing for ailing calves but I did OK until the last lap when my right calf cramped up. Not quite as bad as thursday but still painful enough to prevent me from putting too much pressure on my right leg. This had some negative impacts on my handling as I couldn’t weight the pedals into corners. I ended up loosing my mojo, getting frustrated and sloppy and fearing for another full-on cramp session with every twinge of the calf muscle. Not the best way to spend your last lap.

I was well hydrated and electrolyted. One thing I’ve recognized is that my training has almost no exercises targeting the calves. No running for crosstraining. No calf raises at the gym. Hell I don’t even stretch them most of the time. Seems like the forgotten lower leg muscles have started making a desperate plea for help.

EDIT: The cure to cramps has to be somewhere on this page .. just have to find out what it is!

March 30, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Cramps… tell me about it! I would have been on the podium with you at Bonelli if I hadn’t cramped so bad on that last lap.

    Comment by Justin | March 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. Seems like a bit more than a simple cramp. I had the same thing earlier this year. Stretching works wonders.

    Comment by John Comunale | March 30, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

