La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Old San Marcos PR

Way back in December, when I was setting up my racing schedule and season goals, I wrote down “Break 18 minutes up OSM by April”. Sounded like a lofty idea at the time. Old San Marcos (for those not familiar) is a 3 mile, 1180 ft vertical climb in Goleta which makes for a perfect training hill – at 7.5% it’s not brutally steep but steep enough to force you to work hard the whole way.

My 2008 best was about 22 minutes. I’ve done it a few times earlier this season (but never “all out”) and was clocking in at about 20 minutes. I had forgotten about my OSM goal until I looked at the calendar on March 31st – crap – last chance to break 18 minutes on OSM before April.

I took off on my trusty cyclocross steed (with 23c tires – now my only “road” bike) and went for it. I used the powertap to pace my output and felt pretty darn good. And not only did I break 18:00, I got 16:55 ! My average power was around 360 watts and my HR was surprisingly stable right around my LT. Very nice!

Looking forward to this weekend – Jos and I are heading down to stay with her folks in San Diego. Saturday I’m going to hit up the San Diego Custom Bicycle Show and check out some frame bling, maybe attend a frame building seminar. Sunday is the Sagebrush Safarri, US Cup #3!

April 2, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. That’s damn good. Good job and great improvement.

    Comment by John Comunale | April 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

