La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

SB Bike Fest Day 2 – Super D

Yet another great day of racing in Santa Barbara. This time it was Elings park for the Super D. The downhill was in the A.M. but I had to get some work done so I opted to just go for the Super D instead.

Lots of Chicken Ranchers out there for this event. And lots of Platinum riders as well. The SB boys were slated for some top spots – If any course has a home-town advantage, it is this one. It was mostly just the downhill/singletrack portions of the XC course (though some sections were cut and others run “backwards”) and I knew every corner like the back of my hand.

Still, right off the gun I started sprinting and went too hard into the first turn. That was the story of my day, powering the pedals like crazy but just slightly off on every turn loosing little bits of momentum here and there. I just didn’t feel as smooth as I normally do on these sections. Of course I don’t normally do these trails with my HR at 180 bpm either which may have had something to do with it. Still it was good enough for an 8:54 which gave me 1st in the Open 30-39 and the best amateur time of the day (4th best overall including pros!)

EDIT: Podium pic from Fastrack Dave:

IMG_4786

Fun stuff. A great “leg opener” for tomorrows XC race. Time to prepare for some suffering by hydrating with some Natty Light left over from last night’s party. I don’t even think that really qualifies as beer does it?

June 7, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Congratulations on your result last night – I’m impressed!

    Comment by Sue | June 7, 2009 | Reply

  2. Finally! I was getting sick of all those second’s and third’s 😉
    Congrats!

    Comment by Sarah | June 7, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

