La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

The ‘Farewell to SoCal’ epic

My last ride in santa barbara and we went big. 50 miles, 8000 ft vert, 6 hours, 2 of the best technical singletrack descents in the county (Knapps/Snyder and Cameusa Connector) and the feared ascent of Angostura.

Starting at the SB Mission at 6:20 …

Bob and I, ready to rock Cameusa. Dave, sitting down eating donuts but still ready to rock nonetheless…

Killer views of the SB backcountry…

Lots of climbing. With almost 5 hours done and the prospect of a 50 minute climb looming, I started to get really excited. I just love to climb. My friends may say I’m sick and insane but the only way to make a ride better is to add longer, steeper climbs and ride them even harder until you can’t see straight. I nearly got there today…

Some horrendous cramping…

And an all around good time.

The two best trails and toughest climb in SB, the good company and the killer backcountry. I will certainly miss Santa Barbara and CA in general but what a ride to remember it by!

Next post will be from San Diego where Jos and will rendezvous with the families for thanksgiving. We plan on running the Oceanside Turkey Trot 5k … i’ve even been running frequently and intensely enough to even consider it “training”. I’ve been clocking some mile repeats at sub 6:00 so I can hopefully break 20 minutes on turkey day. Then its off to Fort Collins. Crazy days we are living.

November 23, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

