La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

O’side Turkey Trot

A quick belated post on my brief foray into running:

Jos, my Dad, Japhy and I got up at the crack-o-dawn on Thanksgiving to get to Oceanside for the 7 am start. Whose idea was that? No turkey for you.

Blurry pic but you can still make out my fab outfit … I know y’all are jealous of my keen sense of fashion:

The best finishing stretch of any race I’ve ever seen!

I pulled off an 18:46 5k… good enough for 60th overall out of 1600. I only missed my PR by 1:40 (set back in 1995 when I might have self-identified as a runner) so i was happy with it. Now I can stop with this running nonsense and get back to base miles on the bike :-). Jos did pretty well – 1 min off her PR from this summer which is not too shabby considering it is her off season.

Thanks to my dad and japhy for coming out to spectate and good job to mark, christina and jos for coming out and putting in good runs as well. The rest of thanksgiving holiday was spent eating, defending my Wii Tennis championship and watching my annual allotment of television. Of course my final day in socal, we took my parents (visiting from CT) to the beach in the pouring rain!

Then it was time to pack up and drive out to CO… more on that later.

December 2, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

