La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Frostbite TT ’10

This Saturday was the first race of the year – the Frostbite Time Trial. Temps in the 50s with a nasty wind coming out of the high-plains – more like the Windburn TT.

I got 13th out of 14 in the Cat 3 senior men. With my winter bike garb, mtb helmet & shoes, a filthy road bike with standard 32h box rims and no aero bars, I stood no chance to win on time against the skinsuit/aero-helmet/TT-bike/carbon disc wheel crowd. Its just tough to know how I could’ve placed had I $6k to throw down on TT gear.

The wind was ripping from the north. The course was a 11.6 mile north-south out and back so the first 5.8 miles got done at an average 33 mph!! The way back was a slight climb back into the headwind so the last 5.8 miles were about 16 mph. It was pretty brutal, especially as a few skinsuits shuttled past me, clearly slicing through the air with a lot more efficiency than my ghetto setup. Frustrating but i was just out there to test my fitness with my trusty powertap.

The test turned out less than stellar – averaged exactly 100% of my estimated FTP for the 32 minute TT. Paced it pretty well but I was nearly toasted at the end. Just in the last month of so, I’ve gone harder, longer with lower HR and perceived exertion. For example:

Today: 32:12, 336 watts. 174 bpm avg HR, gave it everything i had
Feb 16: 40:00 340 watts. 162 bpm avg HR, good hard steady effort but not killing it

Something was clearly “off” today. The massive headache I experienced on the ride home indicated that my body was pissed at something. This is where having a coach would come in handy…

March 7, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. If only you could find a coach who was as analytically minded as you are, with 20 years more experience!

    Comment by jawsome | March 7, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] Lake at tempo pace. Felt good. Thurs: 1 hour easy on singlespeed. Friday: nada Sat: Frostbite TT plus 2 hrs, 40 miles at endurance pace Sun: 6 hrs, 101 miles exploring some backroads to the north. […]

    Pingback by Training week of 3/1/2010 « La vie de vélo | March 8, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

