La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Horsetooth TT series 3/25

Decided to jump into the local Horsetooth Time Trial Series on Thursday night. After my pitiful attempt at TT earlier this month, i needed redemption. Luckily this race had two categories based on equipment: Eddy Merckx division for riders with mass-start legal gear only and the Aero division for full-on aero bike and garb. Helps level the playing field a bit.

I did the hilly 14 mile course in 40:47 with my power at 101% of FTP. Fairly well paced though i still need to work on holding back a bit in the first 10 minutes. I felt like I cooked myself a bit on the second and third climbs. Good enough for 4th place in the Merckx division. Paul Esposti won the Merckx division with a time of 38:10 and with competition like that, I can’t complain about 4th! And in the Aero division, Tom Danielson of Garmin won with a time of 34:37! He passed me like I was standing still – nice ride Tom.

Results are here. Fun local series with a ton of talented competition = a lot better than doing this sort of painful workout alone.

March 26, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. […] 2:00 including the Horsetooth TT – 40 min at […]

    Pingback by Training – week of 3/21/2010 « La vie de vélo | March 29, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

