La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Another long day in the mountains

Planned on doing the FRMTB race at Louisville but decided that 1 hr of short track didn’t fit the “training plan”. I didn’t feel like racing in a city park .. i want to ride mountains.

Start on pavement up Rist Canyon

Then up Old Flowers road which is a dirt road through some beautiful ranches

Goes from dirt road to double-track..

Open up on some views of White Pine Mountain (the north side; yesterday I was looking at it from the south)

Took a forest road up towards White Pine. The map showed the road stopping but it kept going, albeit in an unmaintained OHV trail. Sometimes the granny gear just isn’t easy enough. Turned around when the snow got too thick. In a few weeks I’ll make a summit attempt from the North using this trail. Snow’s gotta melt first.

More beautiful doubletrack on the way back

The back-side of Rist. 12% grade. 100% suck especially 5 hours into a ride.

Another 6+ hour day in the saddle. I was throwing down some hard climbing efforts all day and felt even better 4 hours into the ride than I did at the start. I am definitely happy with the endurance aspect of my training. Starting to get pretty comfy with the 8-9k ft altitude riding (slowly working my way up to 11k ft for Breck.) and I’m really starting to notice good “on-the-bike” recovery from hard efforts while still riding solid tempo. Long ride on weekends + Hard intervals during the week = a good combo.

May 24, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. […] Pine recon Way back in May, I wrote about my first attempt at climbing White Pine mtn from the north side. I know that FS100, an OHV trail, climbs White Pine from the south (Jeff […]

    Pingback by White Pine recon « La vie de vélo | August 16, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

