La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Red Rocks and Breck pre-ride

So Jos somehow got tix to the Widespread Panic show at Red Rocks on Friday night. One of my favorite bands since I first saw them play in North Carolina in ’97. Awesome band, awesome venue.

Saturday, nothing special – just some quick but brutal anaerobic intervals on the road bike.

Sunday I drove up to Breckenridge to pre-ride the Firecracker 50 course. Me and ever other mountain biker in CO apparently. The trails were crowded but everyone was super cool and I ended up riding with a few folks that I’d first met at the Gunnison Growler.

So the break down of the Marathon Nationals course: It starts out as a paved climb, transitions to a dirt road

then goes up on a narrow doubletrack (or is that a wide singletrack?) topping off with a steep rocky dirt road grunt. Then it’s down “Nightmare on Baldy” which is a sweet high-pine singletrack; smooth and flowing and fast. The descent continues with some dirt road descending. Then you climb French Gulch which turns rocky and steep and is the only real granny-gear climb in the race. From there you traverse some singletrack

then hit a series of fireroads until the final descent into town.

The final few miles are nice tight singletrack, a little more technical and rocky but still very fast. That ends the 25 mile lap. Rinse and repeat for a total of 50 miles and 10,500 vertical feet.

All in all I was surprised at how smooth and non-technical the course was. My expectations were of extreme rocky terrain so I was pleasantly surprised to find buffed dirt 🙂 I’m definitely running my race tires (Stans Ravens) on this one. Also surprised that the climbs, while long, were not that brutal. Of course I was very aware of the altitude affects; I could climb at a moderately high pace for a long time but if I dared to pick it up a notch, I needed to slow way down for several minutes to recover. Pacing these climbs is going to be the key.

June 28, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

