La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Race Report: Blue Sky Trail Half Marathon 2010

This was the culmination of 8 weeks of post-MTB season training focussed almost purely on running (with a wedding and a 2 week backpacking trip thrown in 🙂 ) As an “off-season”, it was sort of a fail – my training volume did decrease a bit but I definitely did a solid amount of training in the form of long trail runs, lots of hills and hillclimb TTs and 1mile and 800m repeats (on grass in a park – I cant stand running on a track).

Glad to say that it paid off. I somehow rocked the Blue Sky Half today with an 8th place overall which was good for 1st place in the 30-39 age groupers. My time was 1:47:12 which was pretty decent given the terrain. Not bad for my first half.

Note the delirious expression – yes it was painful. The effort was similar to a XC MTB race where its just a bit too long to rev up the engine to threshold pace but too short to really “pace yourself”.

And Jos rocked it too – working a new job, backpacking and planning the wedding she barely had any time for training but still pulled off a very respectable 2:30 finish.

The course started on a nice flat dirt trail for the 1st 3 miles then turned to a relentless series of ups and downs along the rocky Blue Sky trail and Indian Summer trails. Not too many huge climbs but there were a lot of them. And the footing was sketchy in spots making it difficult to hold a steady rhythm. They are fun fun trails though and I dont think I’d want to run 13.1 miles on anything but some primo singletrack.

I kept up a good strong effort for the first 11 miles, enough to gap my nearest competitors on the climbs, only to crack on the final descent. My legs just turned to jelly and I lost all my “spring”. I put it in cruise control and got passed with 400m to go by #7.

Legs feel ok now but we’ll see how tomorrow treats them. For now its time to rest, drink a beer and get my CX bike ready for action. Can I put away my running shoes now?

October 3, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

