La vie de vélo

Adventures in cycling and life

Bailing on the CTR

As much as it pains me to make this decision, this is just not the year for me to do the Colorado Trail Race. The timing couldn’t be worse – both Joselyne and I are set to start our new jobs in Portland in the begining of August – same week as the CTR. So that would mean moving across the country, starting a new job and doing a 5 day bikepacking race all at once. Not going to happen. The time and money required to even train for and prepare equipment for the race are daunting even without all the other stuff going on in my life at the moment. So the CTR is going to have to take a back seat to career and family…

This means a shuffling of priorities – my new “A” race will once again be the Breck 100. Hopefully I’ll redeem myself from last year’s navigational debacle and actually stay on course this year!

Once I get settled out in Oregon in August, I’ll make one last push for the Marathon Nationals in late Sept held in Bend.

Sadly no bikepacking or multiday racing this year … but having adjusted my goals as such, the Breck 100 seems like a sprint distance race now!

May 20, 2011 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment